Danish Braid (a la Julia Child)

This week while I was up for trying new dough recipes, I made a danish pastry. The picture in the book looked so beautiful that I had to try my own. The dough itself was easier than the calzone dough and while it had to rest in the fridge, I basically just had to add all of the ingredients together and wait.

So when I was done waiting, I made the confectioners cream and jam for the inside.

The jam was super easy. It was basically just fruit (I used strawberries and blueberries), sugar and lemon juice. The recipe told me to cook it in the microwave, which I highly doubt is from the mouth of Julia Child, but nonetheless, it came out great and was super easy.

Then I rolled the dough out and put the jam in the middle and topped it with the cream.

Then I cut slits down the sides and folded them over the filling alternately to make a braid.

Brushed the top with egg whites and sprinkled some sugar and almonds on top…

And it was ready for the oven. I have to admit I was feeling pretty good about myself here! Call Martha Stewart!

Oh Heaven!

I can say without hesitation this is the best pastry I’ve ever made. It even tops my berry pie. The almonds add a great dimension to it and the berry jam is soooo delish. Jason and I have consumed it in entirety in two days. Needless to say, I will be making that again!

Recipe: Danish Braid from Baking with Julia by Dorie Greenspan, Page 205

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Danish Braid (a la Julia Child)

  1. George

    Looks like it came from the Alessi bakery….good job……where’s my slice!

Leave a comment