Valentine’s FAIL.

Last night my husband and I decided we would celebrate Valentines day. He would prepare a delicious dinner and I would prepare a delicious dessert. He kept up his end of the bargain. I did not.

It started out great. I was going to make a Blueberry & Nectarine Pie. Sounds delish right? Well somewhere in the baking process I royally screwed it up. I have a few theories of what went wrong:

1. When I made the pie crust, I was distracted and added a few of the ingredients out of order. Maybe this ruined the chemistry of the crust?

2. I had the crust premade and frozen. The directions said I could do this though, so if this is what caused the problem, I blame Julia Child.

3. The dough was softer than usual, even after freezing it, so I couldn’t roll it as thin as I’d liked to. Thus, it was probably too thick. This could have been an issue because of theory #1.

4. The directions told me to put the pie on a foil lined pan to bake it. I think this caused the bottom not to cook as well as it should have. Again, Julia’s fault.

5. Cupid hates me.

In any sense, the pie looked beautiful but wasn’t edible because the dough on the bottom was soggy and uncooked. YUCK. I know no one wants to make this pie after I shared that but here are the pretty photos anyway:

And final product:

So pretty, right? Such a shame the only ones enjoying it are the ants that probably will find their way into our trash can. To top it off, here’s my husband’s amazing dinner:

Yeah. Delicious. I would have removed the bumbo before I took the picture but it’s pretty indicative of our life right now so I thought I’d leave it in.

His present was even this amazing marble slab for rolling out doughs (like the one that I ruined).

Needless to say, my confidence has taken a little bit of a beating. Hopefully the next thing I make will redeem my cooking self esteem. Oh well, on to better things! Hope your Valentines day involves lots of yummy treats!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Valentine’s FAIL.

  1. Linda

    Don’t beat yourself up..this is how we learn to become great cooks and bakers…trial and error…I am sure the next venture will make up for this one….at least you are attempting new things –some of us stick to the dull and old things!..(me).

Leave a comment