Bon Appetit Brownies

This week we got in our new issue of Bon Appetit (which in my opinion, used to be a better magazine but that’s off the topic)… and it had a really yummy looking brownie on the cover. Naturally, I decided to make them.

This recipe can be found in the newest issue (shown above)

First it had me brown the butter:

(which is basically just melting in a saucepan and simmering until it stops foaming and there are little brown bits on the bottom)

Then I combined the dry ingredients.

(Mainly sugar and cocoa)

I put the butter in my mixer and added the dry ingredients. Then I added the eggs one at a time and let it mix itself into deliciousness. (I don’t say it enough: I love my kitchenaid mixer.)

Baked into gooey perfection. (The recipe called for walnuts mixed into the batter… however I don’t really care for walnuts so I just topped half of the pan so I could have them without nuts and Jason could have them with.

Consensus: Jason said it was the best brownie I’ve ever made. I thought the last batch I made from scratch was better (and the recipe was easier) but I thought they were good. If you’re a cake-y brownie lover, this is not your recipe. These are definitely dark, gooey and very rich.

Try it out and let me know what you think.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment