Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

So since I had leftover ricotta from a dinner recipe last week and I had blueberries in the fridge, I wanted to make a recipe that I’d been dying  to try since I saw it. Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes. Only I couldn’t remember where I had seen the recipe so I looked for one online, and found this one. Looked delish, so I tried it out.

Mix the dry ingredients…

Then the wet… (plus sugar)

I whisked these two together and put the egg whites in my kitchenaid mixer (also can be done with a handheld mixer) until they formed soft peaks.

Confession: whenever it said to separate the eggs and beat the whites, I always thought, “Is this really necessary? They are all going in the same batter.” But YES it is necessary. When you beat the whites to make them form peaks they get really airy and light. This helps whatever you’re making become airy and light too and can have a significant difference in the end product. So don’t get lazy and skip this part. It pays off.

Then I folded the egg whites into the batter mixture. [Basically that means taking a rubber spatula (my favorite one ever is from IKEA and costs about 99 cents) and taking the batter from the bottom and bring it to the top in a circular, gentle motion until everything is blended together.]

I always put my pancake batter in a measuring cup so I can easily pour it onto the skillet.

And the finished product:

I was SUPER happy with these. They tasted great and looked beautiful. Again, I sprinkled a little confectioners sugar on top to make it look pretty. YUM. I give this recipe two thumbs way up. I’m sure it would be good with other fruit too or just plain by themselves. The pancakes had a wonderful flavor and were super light.

I now want these every morning.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blueberry Ricotta Pancakes

  1. George

    Me being the blueberry expert that I am….. this looks pretty good…I’ll take any leftovers…Jason is a lucky man!

Leave a comment